Gulangyu Island is a tourist island off the coast of Xiamen, Fujian province. Visitors can reach it by steamship from Xiamen City in about 5 minutes. The island became a foreign colony following the Treaty of Nanking in 1842.
As a place of residence for Westerners during Xiamen's colonial past, Gulangyu is renowned for its architecture and for hosting China's only piano museum, giving it the nickname of "Piano Island" or "The Town of Pianos" or "The Island of Music". There are over 200 pianos on this island.
The Chinese name also has musical roots, as gu lang means drum and waves. So-called is because of the sound generated by the ocean waves hitting the reefs. Yu means "islet".
The island of Gulangyu is a pedestrian only destination, where the only vehicles on the islands are several fire trucks and passenger transport vehicles. The narrow streets on the island, together with the architecture of various styles around the world, give the island a unique appearance.
Sunlight Rock is located in the south-central part of the island. It is the island's highest point with an altitude of 92.7 meters (304 feet). it appears superb and grand when seen from afar.
The Shuzhuang Garden is also very famous. First built in 1931 on the southside of the island, Shuzhuang Garden was once a private villa. It became a garden park open to the public in 1955. It is divided into two parts-the Garden of Hiding the Sea (Canghaiyuan) and the Garden of Making-Up Hills (Bushanyuan). It is exquisitely designed. As a complex of Chinese traditional gardens, Shuzhuang Garden entices visitors so much that one cannot help but want to see inside.